Prince Edward Island School Athletic Association ARCHIVES

Past PEISAA Award Winners

1985-86	First MERIT Award Winners: Larry Wright, John Hughes, Clarence Gallant, PaulDesRoches				
	Merit	Coach	Officials	Builders	Administrator
1986-87	Harvey Mazerolle				
1987-88	Darryl Gaudet				
1988-89	Paul MacDonald				
1989-90	Donna Sears				
1990-91	Kimball Blanchard				
1991-92	Brenda Miller		BB Chopra		
1992-93	John Bowness		Gordie Wilson		
1993-94	Glen Edison				
1994-95	Chris Annett		Ray Moore		
1995-96	Walter MacEwen		Ron Chambers		
1996-97	Garth Turtle		Ann Marie Ryan		
1997-98	Trudy MacLeod	Tom Mann	Rob Anderson		
1998-99	Lyall Huggan	Aaron Carr	Colin MacAdam		
1999-00	Rick MacKinnon	Bev Rieger		Charlie Ballem	
2000-01	Mike Lloyd	Peter Bolo	Jeff Hirtle	Cecil Taylor	
2001-02	Rob Anderson	Harvey Mazerolle	Glen Miller	Lyall Huggan	
2002-03	Garth Campbell	Sue Thompson	James Landrigan	Larry Wright	Paul Goguen Randy Cheverie
2003-04	Jackie Arsenault	Dale Farrish	Frank MacDonald	Walter MacEwen	Ron Diamond
2004-05	Blair O'Halloran	Paul Goguen	Darryl Boudreau	Lona Ryan	Jim Killorn
2005-06	Peter Bolo	Mike Lloyd	Brian Carlton	Randy Cheverie Shane MacClure	Trudy MacLeod
2006-07	Gordie Wilson	Walter Davidson	Terri Bontempo	Jason Simmons	Garth Campbell
2007-08	Darryl Boudreau	Lincoln Rix	Joe Ryan	Garth Turtle	Dale McIsaac
2008-09	Paul Goguen	Chris Austin	Richard Pettipas		Gordie Wilson
2009-10	Randy Cheverie			Gordie Wilson	
2010-11	Dave Matthews	George Kinch	Roger Richard	Garry MacAdam	Peter Bolo
2011-12	Tim Murphy	Mike Peterson	Rick MacKinnon	Harvey Mazzerolle	Esther Hovingh
2012-13	Susan Willis	Brendan Kelly	Wayne MacDonald	Garth Campbell	Trevor Bridges
2013-14	Velma Durant	Andy Walker	Peter Bolo	Barb Carmichael	Kellie Steele
2014-15	Cheryl Tanton	James Voye	Marta Irvine	Rick MacKinnon	Darryl Boudreau
2015-16	Dianne Nabuurs	John Munro	Tim Hockin	Tim Murphy	Walter MacEwen
2016-17	Andrew MacAdam	Richard Younker	Gerard MacDonald	Rob Anderson	Jerry Coady
2017-18	Gloria Whalen	Dale MacDougall	Mark MacDougall	Sue Grady-Thompson	Lincoln Rix
2018-19	Stephen White	Cathy Butler	Anthony Scott	Darryl Gaudet	Joel Arsenault
2019-20	CJ Studer	Lynn Boudreau	Robert St. Pierre	John Bowness	Harvey Mazerolle
2020-21	Phil Bridges	Darryl Boudreau	Jim Fisher	Colin MacAdam	Barb Carmichael
2021-22	Gerald McCormack	Paul Killorn	Lindsey Corkum	Mike Lloyd	Megan Morrison
2022-23	Wayne Denman	Alice Champion	Matt MacKinnon	John Turner	Brett Corcoran
2023-24	Ester Hovingh	Patrick Bryne	Dale Farris	Paul Goguen	Phil Bridges
2024-25	Kellie Steele	Faro Halupa	Jeff Thompson	Peter Bolo	Karen Aucion-Smith

THE GARTH TURTLE "MERIT" AWARD

The Merit Award is an award presented by the Prince Edward Island School Athletic Association. The Merit Award is presented to one active member of the P.E.I.S.A.A. per year to recognize a career of outstanding contribution to P.E.I. school athletics.

CRITERIA FOR THE AWARD: In order to be nominated for a Merit Award a member must be active in the School Athletic Association in any of the following:

A. P.E.I.S.A.A. Administration

(1) Executive Member (2) Sport Commissioner (3) Committee Member (4) Provincial TournamentManager (5) Zone Tournament Manager

B. Extra Curricular Involvement

1) Coaching (2) Managing (3) Officiating,

C. Professional Development

Has shown professional growth through: (1) Courses (2) Seminars (3) Clinics (4) Conferences (5) Exchanges **D. Demonstrated an adherence to the objectives of the School Athletic Association.**

THE "COACH" AWARD

The "*Coach Award*" is an Annual Award presented by the Prince Edward Island School Athletic Association. This award is presented to one active member of the P.E.I.S.A.A. per year in recognition of a significant contribution to a coaching career in the PEISAA. It is the position of the Awards Committee that this Award emphasize the "*humanitarian aspect*" and not necessarily focus solely on "*competitive success*".

CRITERIA FOR THE AWARD:

In order to be nominated for this Award, the member coach must have contributed to School Athletic in the following:

(A) Professional Development: (1) Courses (2) Seminars (3) Clinics (4) Conferences (5) Exchanges

- **(B) Dedication:** (1) Athletics, (2) Program, (3) School
- (C) Educational: (1) Curriculum (2) Philosophy

(D) Emphasis on "Fair Play:" (1) Demonstrate (2) Promote

(E) Adherence to P.E.I.S.A.A. Objectives

(F) Humanitarian Component

THE "OFFICIALS" AWARD

The "*Officials Award*" is an annual award presented by the Prince Edward Island School Athletic Association. This Officials Award is presented to one active member of a PEI Officials Association per year in recognition of a significant contribution to the officiating of PEISAA sanctioned events.

CRITERIA FOR THE AWARD: In order to be nominated for the Officials Award, an individual must have contributed to the officiating of school athletics in the following:

A. Professional Development Organized, developed or provided in-service courses, seminars, clinics, and/or conferences.

B. Administration Executive Member (Officials / Sport Association) or Officials Assignor for PEISAA

C. The candidate must demonstrate an understanding of the objectives of PEISAA sanctioned athletics.

The candidate must demonstrate a recognition of the value of school sport. The candidate must be an active member of a PEI Officials Association.

THE CHARLIE BALLEM "BUILDERS" AWARD

The "Builders' Award" is an Annual Award presented by the Prince Edward Island School Athletic Association. This Builders' Award is presented to a former member of the P.E.I.S.A.A. to recognize an outstanding contribution towards the promotion and development of School Athletics in Prince Edward Island.

CRITERIA FOR THE AWARD: In order to be nominated for this Award, the individual must have contributed to School Athletics in any of the following:

(A) Administrator: (1) Executive Member (2) Sport Commissioner (3) Committee Member (4) Tournament Manager

(B) Builder: (1) Sport (2) Program (3) Constitution/By-Laws

(C) Promotor - Advocate: (1) Education (2) School Athletics (3) Sport (4) Fair Play

(D) Volunteer: (1) Coach (2) Manager / Liaison (3) Official

(E) Recognition of the Values of School Athletics: In nominating an individual for this award, the nominator must be able to demonstrate how this nominee influenced the growth and development of School Athletics on Prince Edward Island.

THE P.E.I.S.A.A. "SCHOOL SPORT ADMINISTRATOR'S AWARD"

The <u>"School Sport Administrator's Award"</u> is an Annual Award presented by the Prince Edward Island School Athletic Association. This Administrator's award is presented to an <u>active</u> member of the P.E.I.S.A.A. to recognize the outstanding contribution of the nominee to school sport within the PEISAA mandate.

CRITERIA FOR THE AWARD In order to be nominated for the Administrators Award, a member must be active in sport administration with the School Athletic Association and should meet several of the following criteria.

(A) Administration: (1) Sport Commissioner / Coordinator (2) PEISAA Executive Member (3) Assignor of Officials (4) School Athletic Director

(B) Extra Curricula Involvement (1) PEISAA Committee Members (2) PEISAA Tournament Manager (3) School Sport Liaison (4) Commissioner of a School Sport

(C) Promoter - Advocate: (1) Education through Sport (2) School Athletics (3) Fair Play (4) SAA Constitution / By Laws

(D) Professional Development in Administration (1) Conferences (2) Courses (3) Seminars (4) Clinics